Various Artists – Soul Explosion (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Various Artists – Soul Explosion (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 01:17:15 minutes | 2,97 GB | Genre: Soul
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Stax

On May 31st, soul connoisseurs can get their hands on the Soul Explosion album, back on vinyl for the first time since 1969. As part of the label’s “Made in Memphis” reissue campaign, the lacquers for the 2-LP set were cut by Memphis-based engineer Jeff Powell at Take Out Vinyl and pressed locally at Memphis Record Pressing (MRP). Soul Explosion offers a sampling of the label’s biggest hits and stars of the day, with Eddie Floyd, the Mad Lads, the Staple Singers, Albert King and more. The second disc of the set includes a selection of rare tracks, many of which are exclusive to this collection. These include the Bar-Kays’ “Hot Hips,” Ollie & The Nightingales’ “Heartache Mountain” and Eddie Floyd’s “It’s Wrong To Be Loving You.”

Motown to the north and Stax to the south. Two distinctive origins of soul music. In the southern humidity of Memphis, there were Isaac Hayes, Otis Redding, Sam & Dave, Booker T. and several others who invented a unique groove combined with namely gospel and blues. Published in 1969, the aptly-named Soul Explosion unites Stax forces such as Eddie Floyd, the Staple Singers, Albert King, the Bar-Kays, and Johnnie Taylor. This collection symbolizes above all the year when Stax reworked its catalogue, in which the independent label broke off its deal with Atlantic Records. Under the direction of Al Bell, Stax published 27 albums and 30 singles in only a few months in order to hit the mark. What’s more, Bell did everything he could to ensure that his label remained in line with the Civil Rights movement that shook America. Soul Explosion represents both a musical as well as an ideological revolution. Essential. – Marc/Zisman

1. Johnnie Taylor – Who’s Making Love (02:49)
2. Jimmy Hughes – I Like Everything About You (02:54)
3. Booker T And The M.G.s – Hang ‘Em High (03:58)
4. Carla Thomas – Where Do I Go (From The Love Rock Musical “Hair”) (02:24)
5. Eddie Floyd – I’ve Never Found A Girl (To Love Me Like You Do) (02:43)
6. Southwest F.O.B. – Smell Of Incense (02:43)
7. Albert King – Cold Feet (02:44)
8. Booker T And The M.G.s – Soul Limbo (02:24)
9. The Mad Lads – So Nice (02:42)
10. Eddie Floyd – Bring It On Home To Me (02:33)
11. William Bell – Private Number (02:43)
12. The Staple Singers – Long Walk To D.C. (02:31)
13. Ollie & The Nightingales – I’ve Got A Sure Thing (02:40)
14. The Bar-Kays – Copy Kat (02:21)
15. Booker T And The M.G.s – Soul Clap ’69 (02:42)
16. The Staple Singers – Hear My Call (03:10)
17. Johnnie Taylor – Save Your Love For Me (02:24)
18. Jimmy Hughes – Peeped Around Yonder’s Bend (02:33)
19. Carla Thomas – Book Of Love (02:42)
20. The Mad Lads – These Old Memories (02:48)
21. Southwest F.O.B. – Mercy, Mercy, Mercy (02:58)
22. The Bar-Kays – Hot Hips (02:17)
23. Ollie & The Nightingales – Heartache Mountain (02:55)
24. Johnnie Taylor – Twenty Years From Today (02:24)
25. Eddie Floyd – It’s Wrong To Be Loving You (02:41)
26. Judy Clay – It’s Me (03:48)
27. Booker T And The M.G.s – Booker’s Theme (03:12)
28. Albert King – Left Hand Woman (Get Right With Me) (02:20)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: