The War and Treaty – Hearts Town (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

The War and Treaty – Hearts Town (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 43:04 minutes | 868 MB | Genre: Soul
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Rounder

The War And Treaty, the duo comprised of Michael and Tanya Trotter, make a triumphant return from their critically-acclaimed debut ’Healing Tide’ with ‘Hearts Town’. Produced and written by military veteran Michael Trotter, this 12-track album features their strongest material to date with Trotter’s songwriting prowess up front and center. When it comes to making music with both extraordinary passion and exceptional chops, few acts today can surpass the sheer excellence of The War And Treaty. The husband-and-wife team have delivered a dynamic sound that joyfully blends Southern soul with elements of gospel, country, rock-and-roll, and blues. Also known for their phenomenal live show, the Nashville-based duo showcase their boundless energy and tremendous generosity as songwriters and performers throughout ‘Hearts Town’.

Tanya Blount-Trotter and Michael Trotter Jr., the couple behind the Nashville rock and soul act the War and Treaty, have a knack for dynamics. When they first appeared on the Americana scene in 2017, they did so with immediate gusto, delivering a fully formed and extremely confident amalgam of soul, folk, R&B, and country sung with the passion of gospel and the muscle of rock. While the husband-and-wife team may be relatively new as a musical duo, between them exists an interesting and varied catalog of credits dating back to the 1990s. On Hearts Town, the follow-up to their 2018 breakout Healing Tide, the Trotters crank up the power even further, turning in a deeply compassionate collection that is almost cinematic in its scope, though still a lot of fun. Self-produced and featuring a bevy of roots music staples, from instrumentalists like dobro legend Jerry Douglas and guitarist Chris Eldridge to singer/songwriter Jason Isbell, the album kicks off with a rock & roll flourish, with songs like “Yearning” and the Isbell-assisted “Beautiful” rippling with heavy guitars, horn stacks, and the full-bore attack of the Trotters’ exuberant, intermingling vocals. A more soulful highlight is the playful and rousing “Five More Minutes,” which features some of Michael’s best vocal takes. Midway through, they take a breath with the stripped-down acoustic gospel-folk gem “Jubilee” before revving back up with the joyous, bluesy ballad “Hey Pretty Moon,” a showcase for Tanya’s massive vocal range. Elsewhere they take curious, but somehow effective, forays into energetic pop (“Jealousy”), torchy ballads (“Lonely in My Grief”), and elegant, earthy folk (“Hustlin'”). At times, the production threatens to become a little too heavy-handed, but with voices and talent like the Trotters possess, going big seems less a sin than underrepresenting their strengths.
– Timothy Monger

1. The War and Treaty – Yearning (03:47)
2. The War and Treaty – Beautiful (03:44)
3. The War and Treaty – Five More Minutes (03:43)
4. The War and Treaty – Hearts Town (03:17)
5. The War and Treaty – Jubilee (02:22)
6. The War and Treaty – Hey Pretty Moon (04:10)
7. The War and Treaty – Jealousy (03:56)
8. The War and Treaty – Liquid Lies (04:11)
9. The War and Treaty – Lonely In My Grief (04:20)
10. The War and Treaty – Little Boy Blue (02:01)
11. The War and Treaty – Hustlin’ (03:39)
12. The War and Treaty – Take Me In (03:47)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: