Joni Mitchell – Both Sides Now (2000) [DVD-Audio to FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Joni Mitchell – Both Sides Now (2000)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 51:15 minutes | 1,16 GB | Genre: Pop, Rock
DVD-Audio Rip | Sourced track: LPCM 24/96 | Artwork: Full scans

Joni’s 2000 album, which won the Grammy for Best Pop Vocal Album, finds the Rock & Roll Hall of Famer and nine-time Grammy®-winner performing a stunning set of orchestral jazz. Mixing jazz standards like “Stormy Weather” and “At Last” with Mitchell’s own classic “A Case of You” and more in a band that includes jazz greats Herbie Hancock and Peter Erskin. Features orchestral arrangements by Vince Mendoza, who won a Grammy® for Best Instrumental Arrangement for his work on the album.

Ex-husband Larry Klein, who serves as co-producer and musical director, explains in his liner notes that Joni Mitchell intended to tell the story of a “modern” romantic relationship in the songs, most of which come from the ’30s and ’40s. If so, her concept of a modern relationship is very troubled – most of the selections are unhappy love songs. Vince Mendoza’s arrangements – a third of them played by a gigantic 71-piece orchestra, a third by a regular-size orchestra, and a third by a swing-style big band – often suggest the oceanic sweep and serious, melancholy tone of film noir movie music. They also do a lot of Mitchell’s work for her. As a singer, she has never had much projection or power, but she is a master of phrasing and tone. Mitchell often sounds like an alternate Billie Holiday, with the breathiness and note decay characteristic of later Holiday, if none of her delayed timing. Both Sides Now is not revelatory in a musical sense, but it does achieve its intention of reconceiving Joni Mitchell as an interpretive singer.

01 – You’re My Thrill
02 – At Last
03 – Comes Love
04 – You’ve Changed
05 – Answer Me. My Love
06 – A Case Of You
07 – Don’t Go To Strangers
08 – Sometimes I’m Happy
09 – Don’t Worry ‘Bout Me
10 – Stormy Weather
11 – I Wish I Were In Love Again
12 – Both Sides Now

Please note: The source is “watermarked”.


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: