Billie Holiday – Music For Torching (1955/2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Billie Holiday - Music For Torching (1955/2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz] Download

Billie Holiday – Music For Torching (1955/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 33:47 minutes | 1,48 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Verve Reissues

This 1955 collection of standards features a preponderance of ballads, putting the emphasis on Holiday’s voice, stylings and her sensitive, intuitive interpretations. Among the session musicians backing Holiday are Harry “Sweets” Edison on trumpet and Benny Carter on alto sax. Holiday could still sing better than most, her sense of rhythm still mostly intact, her unusual timbre still there (perhaps even a bit more idiosyncratic with age) and still able to tell the story of any song. And what songs she was given for these sessions: there isn’t a dud in the bunch.


1. Billie Holiday – It Had To Be You (04:03)
2. Billie Holiday – Come Rain Or Come Shine (04:24)
3. Billie Holiday – I Don’t Want To Cry Anymore (03:55)
4. Billie Holiday – I Don’t Stand A Ghost Of A Chance With You (04:28)
5. Billie Holiday – A Fine Romance (03:34)
6. Billie Holiday – Gone With The Wind (03:26)
7. Billie Holiday – I Get A Kick Out Of You (05:41)
8. Billie Holiday – Isn’t This A Lovely Day? (04:12)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: