Various Artists – Mozart: Divertimento No. 11, K. 251 & Quartet in F Major, K. 370 (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Various Artists – Mozart: Divertimento No. 11, K. 251 & Quartet in F Major, K. 370 (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 40:50 minutes | 456 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Sony Classical

Music is Life. Life is Music. This is one way of expressing violinist Isaac Stern’s lifetime credo, a credo that has resounded with unflagging strength throughout a long career, all the way from a sensational début in San Francisco during the 1930s to the beginning of the new millennium, which finds Isaac Stern as indefatigable as ever in the cause of international music. He himself has said: “Our responsibility is to continue the search for beauty and humanity. That is what survives.” Music, for Isaac Stern, is a gift to mankind. It has been so from the dawn of history and must forever remain so. This is the artist’s duty, or, as Stern has put it in this age of machinery and computers: “To perform, any machine can play better than a human. But only a human being can look at somebody and say, ‘I love you’.”

No less important than his own musicianship is Stern’s inspiring educational achievement on behalf of young people the world over. He sees an obvious duty in transmitting to the young generation, not only the skills he possesses, but also the joy and dedication with which music inspires him. And he has found it no less natural to guide and assist young musicians at the beginning of their careers, as for example with violinists Schlomo Mintz, Ithzak Perlman and Pinchas Zukerman. It was also Stern’s personal involvement and sense of responsibility for the young generation that led him to take part in a seminar in Cologne. As a Jew he had once vowed, out of respect for the Jews killed in the Holocaust, never to set foot in Germany. But he changed his mind on that score, feeling that it was time for him to see the country of Bach, Beethoven and Mendelssohn. He also wanted to see and hear how young German musicians are absorbing their musical heritage, as well as passing on his own experience by teaching 28 students o a nine-day seminar.

The most palpable proof, and the crowning success, of his untiring endeavour to sustain, renew and develop venues for music is the Carnegie Hall, which but for his personal intervention, would have been razed to the ground in the 1960s. The battle to save the Carnegie Hall, and Stern’s personal experience of it, have been and remain a source of inspiration for promoters, managers and cultural policymakers the world over. For more than 35 years now, Isaac Stern has been President of the Carnegie Hall, in which capacity he has helped to make it one of the world’s foremost concert venues.

Past, present and future are always embodied by Isaac Stern as artist and human being. To him, Music is timeless, Music is Life, and Life is Music.

1. Pablo Casals – I. Allegro molto (04:50)
2. Pablo Casals – II. Menuetto (04:16)
3. Pablo Casals – III. Andantino (04:23)
4. Pablo Casals – IV. Menuetto (Tema con Variazioni) (04:49)
5. Pablo Casals – V. Rondeau. Allegro assai (05:35)
6. Pablo Casals – VI. Marcia alla francese (02:22)
7. Isaac Stern – I. Allegro (06:41)
8. Isaac Stern – II. Adagio (03:15)
9. Isaac Stern – III. Rondeau: Allegro (04:35)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: