Trifecta – Fragments (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Trifecta – Fragments (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 45:00 minutes | 501 MB | Genre: Jazz Fusion, Jazz Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Kscope

Trifecta, a new addition to the Kscope roster, features 3 of the contemporary music scene’s most lauded and revered musicians – bassist and songwriter Nick Beggs, keyboardist extraordinaire Adam Holzman and completing the line-up, Craig Blundell – one of the world’s most celebrated drummers.

Having performed together as part of Steven Wilson’s band, the three would jam together after soundchecks, forming what they referred to as “jazz club” and from these sessions the fledgling ideas for Fragments were born, Nick Beggs comments “after the last tour with Steven finished, we had a handful of tracks ready to work on and as we moved through our various separate projects we agreed to work on Trifecta.”

The record primarily leans toward a fusion of jazz rock, being instrumental except for the first single, the wonderfully titled “Pavlov’s Dog Killed Schrodinger’s Cat”. The lyrics of which, Beggs states “are written from the perspective of a layman trying to understand quantum mechanics…and failing”

Each band member completed the recording and engineering of their own contributions in their various home studios which helped in bringing their individual production ideas to each track. Adam Holzman mixed the record at his New York home studio and the mastering was handled by Andy VanDette (Rush, David Bowie, Deep Purple, Porcupine Tree, Beastie Boys) in New York.

Asked what fans of the musicians can expect from Trifecta he states “Fission! It’s like Fusion but less efficient and more dangerous.”

The debut album resulting from this “fission” of these extraordinary musicians is entitled Fragments and will be released on Kscope on 20th August 2021.

01. Trifecta – Clean up on Aisle Five (03:07)
02. Trifecta – Check Engine Light (02:54)
03. Trifecta – Proto Molecule (02:19)
04. Trifecta – Auntie (02:57)
05. Trifecta – Venn Diagram (02:41)
06. Trifecta – The Enigma of Mr. Fripp (02:43)
07. Trifecta – Sally Doo-Dally (02:53)
08. Trifecta – Have You Seen What the Neighbours Are Doing? (02:58)
09. Trifecta – The Mute Gospel (03:15)
10. Trifecta – Pavlov’s Dog Killed Schrodinger’s Cat (04:11)
11. Trifecta – Voyage of Discovery (03:02)
12. Trifecta – Nightmare in Shining Armor (02:00)
13. Trifecta – Dry Martini (03:12)
14. Trifecta – Lie 2 Me and Take My Money (03:13)
15. Trifecta – Hold It Like That (03:28)


%d bloggers like this: