The Who – Odds & Sods (1974/2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

The Who – Odds & Sods (1974/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:11:17 minutes | 1,48 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Geffen

Odds & Sods is an album comprised of studio outtakes by The Who, intended to counter the rampant bootlegging of live Who shows that was going on at the time. The material was compiled by John Entwistle, while the rest of the band was preparing for the Tommy film. The album was released in 1974 and contains material recorded between 1964 and 1973.

Odds & Sods, a compilation of outtakes and rarities from the Who’s first decade, is a rather jumpy listen that harbors few songs that could be termed top of the line. Also, since its 1974 release, several of the tracks have been issued on other compilations, or as bonus tracks to CD reissues of legitimate Who albums. Setting your expectations at the appropriate level, however, you’ll find much of this worthwhile. “Pure and Easy,” “Naked Eye,” and “Long Live Rock” were all concert favorites of the group in the ’70s; “Glow Girl” introduced some riffs that would resurface in Tommy; and “Postcard,” John Entwistle’s tale of rock life on the road, was one of his better compositions. This also has their very first single, “I’m the Face,” recorded in 1964 when the group were known as the High Numbers. The 1998 CD reissue is a must-have even if you’ve got the original LP, as it doubles the album size with a dozen bonus tracks, most previously unreleased. These include some really interesting items: the Motown covers “Leaving Here” and “Baby Don’t You Do It” are taken from demos circa late 1964, the latter track featuring some early guitar distortion freak-out in the solo; “Mary Anne with the Shaky Hand” is the rare U.S. B-side version; there are late-’60s studio versions of Live at Leeds faves “Summertime Blues” and “Young Man Blues”; the Rolling Stones’ cover “Under My Thumb” and “Water” are B-sides that weren’t on an album for a long time; and there are less exciting alternates and outtakes from Tommy, Who’s Next and Quadrophenia. –Richie Unterberger

01. The Who – I’m The Face (The High Numbers) (02:33)
02. The Who – Summertime Blues (03:14)
03. The Who – Under My Thumb (02:38)
04. The Who – Mary Anne With The Shaky Hand (02:09)
05. The Who – My Way (02:25)
06. The Who – Faith In Something Bigger (03:06)
07. The Who – Glow Girl (02:21)
08. The Who – Little Billy (02:13)
09. The Who – Young Man Blues (Alternate Studio Version) (02:50)
10. The Who – Cousin Kevin Model Child (01:27)
11. The Who – Love Ain’t For Keeping (Leslie West Version) (04:07)
12. The Who – Time Is Passing (03:33)
13. The Who – Pure And Easy (05:24)
14. The Who – Too Much Of Anything (feat. Nicky Hopkins) (04:23)
15. The Who – Long Live Rock (04:00)
16. The Who – Put The Money Down (04:02)
17. The Who – We Close Tonight (03:02)
18. The Who – Postcard (03:32)
19. The Who – Now I’m A Farmer (04:10)
20. The Who – Water (04:41)
21. The Who – Naked Eye (05:15)

Roger Daltrey – vocals, harmonica
John Entwistle – bass guitar, brass, vocals, lead vocals on “Postcard” and “We Close Tonight”
Keith Moon – drums, lead vocals on “Cousin Kevin Model Child”, partial lead vocals on “We Close Tonight” and “Now I’m a Farmer”
Pete Townshend – guitar, piano, bass guitar, synthesizer, vocals
Leslie West – lead guitar on “Love Ain’t For Keeping”


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: