The Menzingers – From Exile (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

The Menzingers – From Exile (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 44:57 minutes | 593 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Epitaph

‘From Exile’ is a reimagined stripped down version of The Menzingers 2019 release <'Hello Exile'. 'From Exile' was recorded from the band’s respective homes while in isolation during COVID-19 stay at home orders.

The Menzingers were on tour in Australia when the world seemed to abruptly stop due to COVID-19, forcing the band to cut their tour short and make their way back to Philadelphia. “The live music industry vanished before our eyes, and just like that we were out of work like tens of millions of others,” notes singer/guitarists Greg Barnett. “As the weeks progressed the upcoming tours got rescheduled, then rescheduled again, then effectively cancelled. There were times when it all felt fatal. There’s no guide book on how to navigate being a working musician during a global pandemic, so we were left to make it up as we went along. We wanted to document and create in the moment, and though we couldn’t be in the same room together due to social distancing lockdowns, we got creative.”

Over the next few months, the band would re-record ‘Hello Exile’ from their separate locations. “We would track the songs from our own home studios, share the files via dropbox, and pray it all made sense when pieced back together. Initially, we planned for the album to be similar to our acoustic demo collection ‘On The Possible Past,’ but we quickly found out that this batch of songs benefited from more detailed arrangements,” adds Barnett. “We rewrote, and changed keys and melodies. We blended analog and digital instruments in ways we never had before. We dug through old lyric notebooks and added additional verses. We got our dear friend Kayleigh Goldsworthy to play violin on two songs. No idea was off limits. Hell, I even convinced the band to let me play harmonica on a song (no small feat!). The recording process ran from mid-March till June, and upon completion we sent it over to our dear friend and close collaborator Will Yip to mix and master.”

1. The Menzingers – America (You’re Freaking Me Out) (From Exile) (02:43)
2. The Menzingers – Anna (From Exile) (03:17)
3. The Menzingers – High School Friend (From Exile) (04:12)
4. The Menzingers – Last To Know (From Exile) (03:59)
5. The Menzingers – Strangers Forever (From Exile) (03:15)
6. The Menzingers – Hello Exile (From Exile) (05:01)
7. The Menzingers – Portland (From Exile) (02:41)
8. The Menzingers – Strain Your Memory (From Exile) (03:59)
9. The Menzingers – I Can’t Stop Drinking (From Exile) (05:03)
10. The Menzingers – Strawberry Mansion (From Exile) (03:05)
11. The Menzingers – London Drugs (From Exile) (03:39)
12. The Menzingers – Farewell Youth (From Exile) (03:58)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: