The Casimir Connection – Reflection (2024) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

The Casimir Connection – Reflection (2024)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 52:00 minutes | 591 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Caliban Sounds

The Casimir Connection’s new album ‘Reflection’ is out now via Caliban Sounds, in association with One Little Independent Records. Composer and saxophonist Diane McLoughlin’s ensemble explores the boundaries between classical and contemporary jazz. The group features internationally renowned pianist Alcyona Mick, award winning violinist Kit Massey, and acclaimed bassist Tim Fairhall.

‘Reflection’ explores uncertainty in times of loss and war, times McLoughlin believes need to be met with compassion, honesty, understanding and connectivity. It brings together elements of classical chamber composition and intense improvisation. This mix contributes to the thoughtful and cinematic narrative of the pieces, creating intimacy and allowing the group to explore sound and silence. The decision not to have percussion helps to create this space for contemplation, in keeping with the Japanese concept of Ma, a pause in time, an emptiness, an interval in which to process and grow. Quiet and brooding, serene and uplifting, with influences from Keith Jarrett to Bartok, The Casimir Connection upholds the integrity of both classical and contemporary jazz traditions, whilst creating something new and authentic.

1-1. Diane McLoughlin – Forgiveness (03:22)
1-2. Diane McLoughlin – Breathe (05:58)
1-3. Diane McLoughlin – Everyday Heroes (06:42)
1-4. Diane McLoughlin – Lost Time (06:20)
1-5. Diane McLoughlin – A Difficult Conversation (03:19)
1-6. Diane McLoughlin – The Slow Walk From Home (07:14)
1-7. Diane McLoughlin – The Spirit Of Birds (09:21)
1-8. Diane McLoughlin – Dark Matters (07:02)
1-9. Diane McLoughlin – Kaitiaki Anahera (02:37)


%d bloggers like this: