Philip Catherine, Paulo Morello & Sven Faller – Pourqoi (2022) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Philip Catherine, Paulo Morello & Sven Faller - Pourqoi (2022) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz] Download

Philip Catherine, Paulo Morello & Sven Faller – Pourqoi (2022)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 51:08 minutes | 410 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Yellowbird Records

Philip Catherine – guitar; Paulo Morello – guitar; Sven Faller – bass
“Pourquoi” is a composition by Philip Catherine lending its name to the second studio encounter with his guitar confrere Paul Morello and Sven Faller on bass. A “Pourquoi” which – yes, you read this right – is doing quite well without the question mark – a word- and title play through which the jazz guitar doyen Philip Catherine (b. 1942 is outing himself as a witty prankster and a joker in life and on stage; a living, young- at-heart jazz legend, turning eighty in 2022; a great musician, appreciated as a national hero in Belgium, the small country with the great jazz scene.

These three top artists perform their music – self-confident, with a virtually natural flow; stylistically assured through all genres; at times vivaciously swinging, at others contemplative and condensed like a successful film score – without a question mark. In more than fifty concerts with just their first album “Manoir de mes rêves” Catherine, Morello, and Faller let their trio art and repertoire mature. Like a good wine.

And they have developed an interplay of chamber-music-like quality never getting out of hand as a “guitar battle”, but constantly living on listening and reacting. And which Sven Faller’s double bass accompanying with sure pulse, canon-like counter melodies, and fills.

While the debut album kept centering around the trio’s estimation for Django Reinhardt, Antonio Carlos Jobim, and jazzy interpretations of French chansons from the 50s and 60s, “Pourquoi” puts original compositions into focus. With the exception of “First Waltz” by Belgian film composer Frédéric Devreese (1929-2020) and the Mediterranean-like “Frontera” by Nicola Andrioli, the repertoire of “Pourquoi” comes from the compositional oeuvres of Catherine and Morello.


01. Philip Catherine – Pourquoi (06:33)
02. Philip Catherine – Robert’s Waltz (04:01)
03. Philip Catherine – To Martine (04:18)
04. Philip Catherine – Chateau Plagne (04:47)
05. Philip Catherine – Frontera (04:07)
06. Philip Catherine – Inútil Paisagem (03:00)
07. Philip Catherine – Ozone (06:14)
08. Philip Catherine – La Valse du Flipper (05:41)
09. Philip Catherine – Méline (05:10)
10. Philip Catherine – First Waltz (03:21)
11. Philip Catherine – Louisella (03:51)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: