Kurt Elling & Charlie Hunter – SuperBlue: The Iridescent Spree (2023) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Kurt Elling & Charlie Hunter – SuperBlue: The Iridescent Spree (2023)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 41:17 minutes | 475 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Edition Records

SuperBlue: The Iridescent Spree is the highly anticipated followup to the 2021 GRAMMY nominated eponymous album, by genre-bending trailblazers Kurt Elling & Charlie Hunter. Joining forces with multi-instrumentalist duo drummer Corey Fonville and bassist-keyboardist DJ Harrison (of Richmond, VA-based jazz-funk fusion quintet Butcher Brown) for a kaleidoscopic collection of new songs, surprising covers, and dynamic reinventions, these are all animated by crafty production, crack musicianship, and Elling’s instantly identifiable vocal prowess. If the first album was a somewhat radical departure for Elling, SuperBlue: The Iridescent Spree is more of an exquisite progression upon the template. Equally informed by R&B, neo-soul, classic pop, psychedelic poetry, rowdy funk, and of course jazz in all its many guises, songs like the ebullient, anthemic “Freeman Square” and the simmering, brass-blasted “Not Here/Not Now” are layered with Elling’s inventive lyricism, their supple swing and rhythmic elasticity rife with wit, pathos, and a wry sense of the human experience.

GRAMMY® Award-winner Kurt Elling is without question today’s preeminent male jazz vocalist, renowned worldwide for his unparalleled virtuosity and flair for trailblazing artistic exploration. From his stunning reinvention of timeless standards to his own captivating original songcraft, the Chicago-based musician has fused his dazzling talents across a panoply of musical approaches, emblazoning each with signature imagination, insight, and emotional intelligence.

With multiple Grammy nominations, two Grammy Wins as well as three Prix du Jazz Vocal, two German Echo, and two Dutch Edison Awards, the storytelling and force of nature Jazz artist is flying high now with a sense of unpredictability.

01. Kurt Elling & Charlie Hunter – Black Crow (03:34)
02. Kurt Elling & Charlie Hunter – Freeman Square (05:14)
03. Kurt Elling & Charlie Hunter – Naughty Number Nine (03:13)
04. Kurt Elling & Charlie Hunter – Little Fairy Carpenter (04:58)
05. Kurt Elling & Charlie Hunter – Bounce It (04:21)
06. Kurt Elling & Charlie Hunter – Only The Lonely Woman (05:38)
07. Kurt Elling & Charlie Hunter – Right About Now (04:07)
08. Kurt Elling & Charlie Hunter – Not Here / Not Now (04:15)
09. Kurt Elling & Charlie Hunter – The Afterlife (05:52)

Kurt Elling, vocals
Charlie Hunter, hybrid guitar
DJ Harrison, keyboards
Corey Fonville, drums
Elena Pinderhughes, flute (on “Black Crow”)
Huntertones Horns (on “Naughty Number Nine”, “Bounce It” and “Not Here / Not Now”)
Jon Lampley, trumpet
Dan White, saxophone & horn arrangements
Chris Ott, trombone


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: