Hawkwind – Warrior On The Edge Of Time (1975/2013) [ADVD to FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Hawkwind – Warrior On The Edge Of Time (1975/2013) [ADVD Rip 24-96]
FLAC(tracks) Stereo 24 bit/96 kHz | Sourced Track – LPCM 2.0 Stereo | 997 MB
FLAC(tracks) Multichannel 24 bit/96 kHz | Sourced Track – LPCM 5.1 | 2,34 GB
Running time – 45:59 minutes | Features New Stereo & Surround Mix by Steven Wilson

…In May 2013, Cherry Red reissued the album, as a Deluxe Edition, along with a new stereo and 5.1 mixes by Steven Wilson, on the Atomhenge label managed by Esoteric Recordings. It was also confirmed that the original master tapes were used.

Hawkwind’s fifth studio album found the band enjoying a rare oasis of stability after the multitudinous personnel shifts of the past five years. Only the recruitment of a second drummer, Alan Powell, disturbed the equanimity of the lineup that created the previous year’s Hall of the Mountain Grill, although it would soon be time to change again. By the end of the year, bassist Lemmy had departed, vocalist Robert Calvert had rejoined, and the group’s career-long relationship with United Artists would be over. In the meantime, Warrior on the Edge of Time ensured that it was brainstorming business as usual. Decorated with a magnificent sleeve that unfolded into the shape of a shield, Warrior on the Edge of Time delivered some of Hawkwind’s best-loved future showstoppers – Simon House’s far-reaching “Spiral Galaxy 28948,” the frenetic “Assault and Battery,” and the monstrous “Magnu” all made their bow here, while the accompanying “Kings of Speed” single was certainly a big hit in the youth clubs of the day, even if it did steadfastly avoid the chart. Remarkable, too, is “The Golden Void,” a stately bolero set, indeed, on the edge of time and buffeted by one of the band’s most impressive ever instrumental performances. A handful of tracks do betray their age. Michael Moorcock’s echo- and effects-laden recitation of “The Wizard Blew His Horn” is impossibly overwrought, although it’s worth sitting through simply for the segue into the throbbing “Opa-Loka”; in fact, the entire album is presented with minimal breaks between tracks, to deliver a seamless treat that – in the light of Hawkwind’s next musical moves – has since seen Warrior on the Edge of Time described as the band’s last true “classic.” It isn’t, but you can easily see why people think it might be.

01 – Assault And Battery / The Golden Void
02 – The Wizard Blew His Horn
03 – Opa-Loka
04 – The Demented Man
05 – Magnu
06 – Standing At The Edge
07 – Spiral Galaxy 28948
08 – Warriors
09 – Dying Seas
10 – Kings Of Speed

Features New Stereo & Surround Mixes by Steven Wilson.

Hawkwind – Warrior On The Edge Of Time (1975) [ADVD 2013] (FLAC Stereo 24-96, Mix by Steven Wilson]



Hawkwind – Warrior On The Edge Of Time (1975) [ADVD 2013] (FLAC 5.1 MCH 24-96, by Steven Wilson]



Hawkwind – Warrior On The Edge Of Time (1975) [ADVD 2013] (Original Stereo Mix, Flat Trasfer 24-96)



Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: