Gregory Groover Jr – Lovabye (2024) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Gregory Groover Jr – Lovabye (2024)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 44:15 minutes | 998 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Criss Cross Jazz

Gregory Groover’s Criss Cross debut, recorded on the Boston born-and-bred tenor saxophonist’s thirtieth birthday, is a tour de force. Joined by a bespoke sextet of his favorite players, all New York-based, Groover presents a recital of 11 original tone-parallels to family and friends, his intentions anticipated, illuminated and fulfilled by his gifted bandmates.

Lovabye follows Groover’s formidable first full-length album, Negro Spiritual Songbook, Vol. 2 (The Message), performed by his excellent Boston band in quartet or quintet configurations, contains Groover’s arrangements of, as he then wrote, “Black America’s praise music through jazz’s evolving language to produce a radical theology that connects you to a higher power,”. Recorded in August 2019, it was released two years later, as society unwound from the Covid-19 pandemic.

During the lockdown, Groover had generated a group of “love songs and songs of people I love.” In spring 2023, he brought this music to Walter Smith, III, who Groover had idolized as a teenager, and is now his friend and colleague at Berklee School of Music, their mutual alma mater, where Groover serves as Assistant Chair of the Ensemble Department. “I told Walter I’d like to play with some of my other heroes and peers,” Groover recalls. “He said, ‘What’s stopping you? The music is there.’ Luckily for me, everyone who I wanted to record with was available and happy to do it.”

1. Gregory Groover Jr – 30 (01:20)
2. Gregory Groover Jr – Bygone Towers (05:53)
3. Gregory Groover Jr – May All Your Storms Be Weathered (04:39)
4. Gregory Groover Jr – Joy (04:59)
5. Gregory Groover Jr – Lovabye (04:57)
6. Gregory Groover Jr – Stages (04:32)
7. Gregory Groover Jr – 5660 (02:59)
8. Gregory Groover Jr – Ambivalence (05:18)
9. Gregory Groover Jr – Lovabye Theme (01:28)
10. Gregory Groover Jr – In For A Pound Or Penny (05:42)
11. Gregory Groover Jr – Cactus Lullaby (02:24)

Gregory Groover Jr. (tenor saxophone)
Joel Ross (vibes)
Matthew Stevens (guitar – 2,3,11)
Aaron Parks (piano)
Vicente Archer (bass)
Marcus Gilmore (drums)


%d bloggers like this: