Tyrone Davis – I Can’t Go On This Way (1978/2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Tyrone Davis – I Can’t Go On This Way (1978/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 39:59 minutes | 816 MB | Genre: R&B
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Legacy Recordings

A late 70s gem from Tyrone’s years on Columbia Records – one that shows both sides of his talents for the label! The set starts out with an extended clubby groover called ‘Get On Up (Disco)’ – a bumping sort of number that’s clearly trying to push him into Johnnie Taylor territory, and which comes off surprisingly well. But even better are the rest of the tracks on the set – which update Tyrone’s older Brunswick sound with a smoother, more sophisticated sort of style – still recorded in Chicago, and with some southern soul traces – but usually done in a warmer midtempo groove, with excellent lead vocals and great backing from The Haywood Sisters. Titles include ‘It’s You It’s You’, ‘Bunky’, ‘All I Ever Need’, ‘I Can’t Go On This Way’, and ‘Can’t Help But Say’.

1. Tyrone Davis – Get On Up Disco (09:55)
2. Tyrone Davis – All I Ever Need (04:27)
3. Tyrone Davis – Bunky (05:05)
4. Tyrone Davis – I Can’t Go On This Way (04:38)
5. Tyrone Davis – Can’t Help But Say (04:10)
6. Tyrone Davis – It’s You It’s You (03:13)
7. Tyrone Davis – I’m Still In Love with You (03:28)
8. Tyrone Davis – Do You Feel It (04:58)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: