TuneTown – There from Here (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

TuneTown – There from Here (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 43:03 minutes | 526 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Slammin’ Media

Tracing the historic path of this particular trio type saxophone, bass and drums, no chordal instrument leads back to saxophonist Sonny Rollins’ A Night At The Village Vanguard (Blue Note, 1958). The sound on that seminal recording is raw, rough around the edges, with the trio bumping through a bunch of familiar tunes, enjoying the freedom from chords.

There From Here, the debut of the Toronto-based trio Tune Town, employs a smoother approach, with tenor saxophonist Kelly Jefferson sounding more like Coleman Hawkins than Rollins. The compositions are mostly band member originals, with a couple of brief-but-invigorating collective improvisations thrown in, along with a gorgeous, slow-as-molasses take on Duke Ellington’s “Sophisticated Lady” and a relaxed, cool-flowing rendition of Cole Porter’s “All Of You.”

1. TuneTown – A Sonic Handshake (00:49)
2. TuneTown – The Monks of Oka (04:58)
3. TuneTown – As She Wonders (05:54)
4. TuneTown – Sophisticated Lady (04:51)
5. TuneTown – Split Infinity (06:00)
6. TuneTown – All of You (04:13)
7. TuneTown – The Mayor (01:54)
8. TuneTown – Infinity Past (00:54)
9. TuneTown – Kindling (04:31)
10. TuneTown – A Transient Space (08:54)


%d bloggers like this: