Thiago Nassif – Mente (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Thiago Nassif – Mente (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 38:36 minutes | 828 MB | Genre: Funk, Experimental, Art Rock, Latin
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Gearbox Records

“His record packs the kind of acerbic, off-kilter Tom Z’e-Elza Soares buzz that delivers samba and its children from suave” – Robert Christgau, Noisey

Thiago Nassif is a Brazilian musician, composer and producer based in Rio de Janeiro, whose impactful m’elange of pop, jarring no-wave, and edgy Tropic’alia has slowly been turning heads the world over.

Gearbox Records presents his latest album “Mente”, co-produced by no wave icon Arto Lindsay, and representative, via its diverse list of accredited musicians, of the progressive, new-generational music scene that is bubbling away in Rio.

The album’s title is a Portuguese homonym meaning “mind” and “to lie”, and represents Thiago’s attitude towards what he calls the “post-truth” state of Brazil’s political regime. Mixing together the languages of Portuguese and English, Thiago goes deep into no-wave, experimental electronic music, Tropicalismo, jazz and rock, moving between funk carioca to dystopian, distorted bossa nova, and beyond.

01. Thiago Nassif – Soar Estranho (04:41)
02. Thiago Nassif – Pele de Leopardo (03:07)
03. Thiago Nassif – Voz Única Foto Sem Calcinha (02:38)
04. Thiago Nassif – Plástico (04:22)
05. Thiago Nassif – Feral Fox (03:19)
06. Thiago Nassif – Trepa Trepa (03:18)
07. Thiago Nassif – Transparente (05:00)
08. Thiago Nassif – Cor (02:37)
09. Thiago Nassif – Rijo Jorra Já (04:47)
10. Thiago Nassif – Santa (04:43)


%d bloggers like this: