The Velvet Underground – The Velvet Underground (1969/2012) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

The Velvet Underground – The Velvet Underground (1969/2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 43:53 minutes | 1,84 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Polydor

The Velvet Underground is the third studio masterpiece by the American rock legends. The work features the rock anthems “Candy Says,” “What Goes On,” “Some Kinda Love” and “Pale Blue Eyes.” It is included on Rolling Stone’s “500 Greatest Albums of All Time.” The album is a rich display of Lou Reed’s effortless songwriting abilities. The Velvet Underground ranked #6 on NME’s “Greatest Albums of All Time”.

Upon first release, the Velvet Underground’s self-titled third album must have surprised their fans nearly as much as their first two albums shocked the few mainstream music fans who heard them. After testing the limits of how musically and thematically challenging rock could be on Velvet Underground & Nico and White Light/White Heat, this 1969 release sounded spare, quiet, and contemplative, as if the previous albums documented some manic, speed-fueled party and this was the subdued morning after. (The album’s relative calm has often been attributed to the departure of the band’s most committed avant-gardist, John Cale, in the fall of 1968; the arrival of new bassist Doug Yule; and the theft of the band’s amplifiers shortly before they began recording.) But Lou Reed’s lyrical exploration of the demimonde is as keen here as on any album he ever made, while displaying a warmth and compassion he sometimes denied his characters. “Candy Says,” “Pale Blue Eyes,” and “I’m Set Free” may be more muted in approach than what the band had done in the past, but “What Goes On” and “Beginning to See the Light” made it clear the VU still loved rock & roll, and “The Murder Mystery” (which mixes and matches four separate poetic narratives) is as brave and uncompromising as anything on White Light/White Heat. This album sounds less like the Velvet Underground than any of their studio albums, but it’s as personal, honest, and moving as anything Lou Reed ever committed to tape.

01. The Velvet Underground – Candy Says (04:03)
02. The Velvet Underground – What Goes On (04:54)
03. The Velvet Underground – Some Kinda Love (04:02)
04. The Velvet Underground – Pale Blue Eyes (05:41)
05. The Velvet Underground – Jesus (03:22)
06. The Velvet Underground – Beginning to See the Light (04:39)
07. The Velvet Underground – I’m Set Free (04:04)
08. The Velvet Underground – That’s the Story of My Life (02:03)
09. The Velvet Underground – The Murder Mystery (08:53)
10. The Velvet Underground – After Hours (02:07)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: