The Strokes – The New Abnormal (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

The Strokes – The New Abnormal (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 45:10 minutes | 975 MB | Genre: Pop Rock, Indie Rock, Alternative Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Cult Records – RCA Records

The New Abnormal is the sixth studio album by American rock band The Strokes. It was released on April 10, 2020, through Cult and RCA Records. Produced by Rick Rubin, it was their first album in seven years, following Comedown Machine, and their first release since the Future Present Past EP.

Finally! The Strokes never stood taller in their Conversed feet than they did at their début 20 years ago. That’s quite a while to be in the wilderness. In 2001, Is This It revitalised a moribund rock. Influenced by Velvet Underground and Television but also, more surprisingly, by Pearl Jam and Nirvana according to Albert Hammond Jr., the five boys headed by Julian Casablancas, son of the boss of Elite and Miss Denmark 1965, had the perfect lo-fi, minimalist rock sound and the nonchalant punk attitude to go with it. Naturally, everything had been well thought-out. “Make it sound old but like it’s from 2001”, Casablancas once said. Back to sloppy guitars, bass and drums for fucked-up-sounding tracks. Down with electronics. The first album’s miracle formula eroded under the weight of subsequent releases, ego duels, experiments with kidnapped synths, and it ended with the pale Comedown Machine (2013), relegating the New Yorkers to has-been status. But The New Abnormal and its prophetic title are inspired. With its visual portrayal of Bird On Money, Basquiat’s exquisite tribute to Charlie Parker, The Strokes walked that thin line between underground and popular, the salt of the 80s. In the Big Apple, with Blondie. But also in Elizabeth’s Kingdom. Impossible not to think of Human League’s Don’t You Want Me when hearing Brooklyn Bridge to Chorus. Or Billy Idol’s sharp lyricism and Morrissey’s vocals on Bad Decisions. From the opening and for 45 minutes thereafter, everything will be moving. From the relentless gimmickry of The Adults Are Talking with Casablancas’ busted falsetto, to the groovy Eternal Summer that calls up shades of Roger Waters on Pigs, to a plaintive Selfless with a Chris Martin tinge: Casablanca’s voice is amazing, and he finally has something to say. To put some freshness back into their maturity, and oil into the sputtering engine, the quintet called upon their “saviour” Rick Rubin, founder of Def Jam. And they struck gold. Calculated melodies that feel spontaneous, synthetic textures with old-fashioned charm, economical guitars and broken-down tempos, everything works beautifully. A work with a chipped but refined beauty, both solar and lunar, that will stand the test of time. – Charlotte Saintoin

1. The Strokes – The Adults Are Talking (05:09)
2. The Strokes – Selfless (03:42)
3. The Strokes – Brooklyn Bridge To Chorus (03:55)
4. The Strokes – Bad Decisions (04:53)
5. The Strokes – Eternal Summer (06:15)
6. The Strokes – At The Door (05:10)
7. The Strokes – Why Are Sunday’s So Depressing (04:35)
8. The Strokes – Not The Same Anymore (05:37)
9. The Strokes – Ode To The Mets (05:51)


%d bloggers like this: