The Staple Singers – Be Altitude: Respect Yourself (1972/2011) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

The Staple Singers – Be Altitude: Respect Yourself (1972/2011)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 49:35 minutes | 919 MB | Genre: R&B, Soul, Funk
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Craft Recordings

Includes two previously unreleased bonus tracks: “Walking in Water Over Our Head” and an alternate version of “Heavy Makes You Happy”
Originally released in 1972, Be Altitude: Respect Yourself captures the celebrated family vocal group in what was essentially the third act of their career, according to music historian Rob Bowman. The Staple Singers had initially established themselves as a gospel group in the 1950s, then merged with the folk music closely tied to the civil rights movement of the 1960s, and ultimately veered away from protest songs and toward what Mavis Staples termed “message music” in the early and mid-1970s.

One of the Stax label’s greatest triumphs. -Lloyd Bradley, BBC Review

01. The Staple Singers – The World (03:40)
02. The Staple Singers – Respect Yourself (04:56)
03. The Staple Singers – Name The Missing Word (04:06)
04. The Staple Singers – I’ll Take You There (04:48)
05. The Staple Singers – This Old Town (People In This Old Town) (04:44)
06. The Staple Singers – We The People (03:52)
07. The Staple Singers – Are You Sure (04:30)
08. The Staple Singers – Who Do You Think You Are (Jesus Christ Superstar)? (04:12)
09. The Staple Singers – I’m Just Another Soldier (03:53)
10. The Staple Singers – Who (03:16)
11. The Staple Singers – Walking In Water Over Our Head (03:52)
12. The Staple Singers – Heavy Makes You Happy (Alternate) (03:40)

Bass – David Hood
Drums – Roger Hawkins
Guitar, Vocals – Roebuck “Pops” Staples
Keyboards – Barry Beckett
Lead Guitar – Eddie Hinton
Rhythm Guitar – Jimmy Johnson (#4)
Vocals – Cleotha Staples, Mavis Staples, Yvonne Staples


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: