Into the Beat – Dein Herz tanzt (2020)Die unlangweiligste Schule der Welt (2023)深海蛇难 (2022)Mea Culpa (2024)The War with Grandpa (2020)Mercy Falls How Far Would You Fall To Survive (2023)I Still Believe (2020)Crown Vic (2019)One for the Road (2023)Bullet Train (2022)

The Rance Allen Group – Truth Is Where It’s At (1972/2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

The Rance Allen Group – Truth Is Where It’s At (1972/2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 39:42 minutes | 1,43 GB | Genre: Gospel, R&B
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Craft Recordings

Photographer Maldwin Hamlin depicted Rance, Steve and Thomas Allen in an apropos trance of introspection on “Truth Is Where It’s At.” On the front cover, the group looks low, staring into their own reflections within the muck of the water underneath a lonely bridge. On the album’s back cover, they stand atop a ledge, looking to the sky. With Rance at arguably the most lucid juncture in the family band’s early career, playing guitar, piano and displaying absolutely astonishing vocal elasticity, it’s of little to no consequence that the album is split down the middle between original material and cover songs. Rance Allen has never seen a song he couldn’t make his own.

Take, for instance, “There’s Gonna Be a Showdown,” a clever retooling of a 1968 rhythm and blues single by Archie Bell & the Drells. Though the formerly released version is far from lacking in the realm of energy, the tumbling, tambourine-accented exuberance of the Allen brothers’ take on the song is drenched in a spirit that borders on the impractical.

The almost alien qualities of Allen’s tonal gymnastics never really slide back down to Earth, but the album’s subject matter does manage to shift, at times, away from the heavenly. On “See What You’ve Done,” the brothers sing of the plight of a mother whose child perishes as a casualty of the Vietnam War, before singing an ode to their own mother on the aptly titled “Mama.”

01. The Rance Allen Group – There’s Gonna Be A Showdown (02:46)
02. The Rance Allen Group – That Will Be Good Enough For Me (04:32)
03. The Rance Allen Group – God Is Wonderful (04:04)
04. The Rance Allen Group – See What You Done Done (06:25)
05. The Rance Allen Group – Look Around (02:44)
06. The Rance Allen Group – God Is Where It’s At (02:15)
07. The Rance Allen Group – If I Could Make The World Better (02:31)
08. The Rance Allen Group – Mama (04:01)
09. The Rance Allen Group – To The Other Man (03:54)
10. The Rance Allen Group – Heartaches (06:23)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: