The National – Sleep Well Beast (2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

The National – Sleep Well Beast (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 57:46 minutes | 645 MB | Genre: Alternative Rock, Indie Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © 4AD

The National return with a sprawling and adventurous new album that holds up to their legendary career. Over the past 16 years this veteran indie quintet has quietly become one of the biggest bands in the country, and with their seventh album they’ve achieved the rare feat of releasing one of their best – if not the best – collection to date.

They’re not ones for making waves and it’s not often that their music comes out of supermarket or airport speakers. Yet The National have become a major band – major because they are able to sell out concert halls, stadiums even, in the blink of an eye. And above all, they continue to create indie rock while offering rather classic melodic frames that never stray far from the status quo. Less adventurous than Radiohead, Matt Berninger and two pairs of brothers (Aaron and Bryce Dessner and Bryan and Scott Devendorf) use their individual and original ideas with the sole purpose of enhancing their songs. We find on Sleep Well Beast, which has just been released, this perfect mix of unified and experimental sounds which embellish their more than perfect compositions. As we often find with The National, simply listening just the once is not enough to be irradiated by the power of their songs. This is confirmed in this seventh album from the New Yorkers. Take your time, reflect upon each lyric, each instrumental effect. It is then and only then that the shell will open to reveal its beauty.

1-01. The National – Nobody Else Will Be There (04:40)
1-02. The National – Day I Die (04:31)
1-03. The National – Walk It Back (05:59)
1-04. The National – The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness (03:56)
1-05. The National – Born to Beg (04:22)
1-06. The National – Turtleneck (03:00)
1-07. The National – Empire Line (05:23)
1-08. The National – I’ll Still Destroy You (05:15)
1-09. The National – Guilty Party (05:38)
1-10. The National – Carin at the Liquor Store (03:33)
1-11. The National – Dark Side of the Gym (04:50)
1-12. The National – Sleep Well Beast (06:33)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: