Pymlico – Supermassive (2022) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Pymlico - Supermassive (2022) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz] Download

Pymlico – Supermassive (2022)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 44:27 minutes | 509 MB | Genre: Rock, Progressive Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Apollon Records

3.5 stars. This is PYMLICO’s latest offering called “Supermassive” another bright, happy, energetic album performed by seven skilled musicians. We even get mister positive vibes himself Roine Stolt listed as a special guest playing lead guitar on “Clockwork”. We get guest trombone, trumpet and fender rhodes on “Time Out” plus some lap steel on “Breaking Protocol”. This is so catchy! My first listen was odd because it really skirts around to being too light and too smooth and the sax player has a lot to do with that. It’s all that’s keeping me from giving this 4 stars but I need some experimental bits, dissonance, darkness, deep atmosphere, something that isn’t… well like this album. I want grit in my Jazz, dirty organ, fuzzed out bass, something! For what it is, it is an incredible recording. I really am drawn to their sound but as I mentioned they go into territories I’m not into.

There are pictures of the band in either the studio or rehearsal room with a couple of framed pictures including THE POLICE as well as David Gilmour. And yes we get some Gilmour-like guitar on this record from one or both of the two lead guitarists. And everyone is smiling. The Broter brothers(drums, keyboards) had a hand in composing all the music except for tracks 2 and 8 which were solo compositions by Are Nerland the bass player who actually adds some additional keys and guitar as well. This is an all instrumental album and for some reason I picture myself driving at night through Toronto when I play this. I haven’t been the big city since Steven Wilson’s “Grace For Drowning” show and I hope to never go again, I prefer the slow life up here in cottage country. But it’s funny how this seems to be the soundtrack for such an adventure.

If your into the lighter more streamlined Jazz stuff please check this talented band out you won’t regret it.


01. Pymlico – Breaking Protocol (06:04)
02. Pymlico – Confusion (05:55)
03. Pymlico – Clockwork (05:14)
04. Pymlico – Are We There Yet ? (05:18)
05. Pymlico – Time Out (06:18)
06. Pymlico – Little Nellie (04:43)
07. Pymlico – Doppelmayr (04:46)
08. Pymlico – WTG (06:06)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: