Paquito D’Rivera – Portraits Of Cuba (1996) [Reissue 2005] MCH SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Paquito D’Rivera – Portraits Of Cuba (1996) [Reissue 2005]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 60:35 minutes | Front/Rear + PDF book | 2,82 GB
or DSD64 2.0 Stereo (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Front/Rear Covers + PDF | 1,48 GB
or FLAC 2.0 (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Front/Rear + PDF booklet | 1,34 GB
Features Stereo and Quardrophonic Surround Sound | Label: Chesky Records # SACD 298

This absolutely classic jazz recording is entitled Portraits of Cuba and is a milestone project of Paquito D’Rivera. Arranged by Carlos Franzetti, the large band ensemble provides an orchestral ambiance akin to the legendary Gil Evan sound with Miles Davis, in the classic “Sketches of Spain.” This recording couldn’t come at a better time, as it presents an artistic commentary on a national and social transition as it unfolds in a new and evolving Cuba. It is truly a work that will be applauded worldwide as the quality of the writing and performance is at a level few artists are capable of achieving today. Paquito D’Rivera provides some of the most inspired improvisation in his career to date and the material chosen for this recording are familiar classics in the popular Latin music tradition. Best Latin Jazz Album of the 39th Annual Grammy Awards.

Because Paquito D’Rivera is such a compelling improviser, one greets a heavily arranged and orchestrated session like Portraits of Cuba with some apprehension. But as it turns out, such apprehension is unwarranted, for the Cuban saxman/clarinetist still has enough room to solo and say what needs to be said. With this 1996 session, which was arranged and conducted by Carlos Franzetti and finds D’Rivera backed by combinations of up to 14 musicians, D’Rivera envisioned an Afro-Cuban equivalent of Miles Davis’ Sketches of Spain – and, to be sure, there are some parallels. Franzetti’s classical-influenced arrangements recall Gil Evans’ work with Davis, and D’Rivera paints an orchestral jazz picture of Cuba much as Davis painted an orchestral jazz picture of Spain. The key phrase here is “jazz picture” – D’Rivera approaches famous Cuban songs like Ignacio Pineiro’s “Echale Salsita” and Ernesto Lecuona’s “Como Arrullo de Palmas” from an instrumental jazz perspective; this is jazz with both Afro-Cuban and classical elements, but it’s jazz first and foremost. Recorded in New York around the time of the infamous Blizzard of 1996 – which dumped up to three feet of snow on parts of the Northeastern U.S. – Portraits of Cuba is among D’Rivera’s most essential recordings.


01. La Bella Cubana
02. The Peanut Vendor
03. Tu
04. Tu Mi Delirio
05. No Te Importe Saber
06. Drume Negrita
07. Portraits Of Cuba
08. Excerpt from “Aires Tropicales”
09. Mariana
10. Como Arrulo De Palmas
11. Echale Salsita
12. Song To My Son
13. Theme from “I Love Lucy”

Arranged And Conducted By Carlos Franzetti.
Produced by David Chesky. Engineered by Bob Katz.
Recorded on February 6-7, 1996 at St. Peter’s Church, Chelsea, NYC.
Edited by Nicholas Prout. Mastered by Bob Katz.




Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: