Mikael Godée, Eve Beuvens – Ingen fara (2023) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Mikael Godée, Eve Beuvens – Ingen fara (2023)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 47:49 minutes | 905 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Igloo

After “Looking Forward” (2019), pianist Eve Beuvens and Swedish saxophonist Mikael Godée sign a new opus with their Swedish team. “Ingen Fara” evokes a flight of migratory birds that fly free yet united, like the music of this Nordic quartet: airy, poetic and delicate.

After “MEQ” (Spookhuis, 2013) and “Looking Forward”, their second album released in 2019 (Igloo), the quartet toured extensively on the European scene. In the interim, the pianist also released a solo album (Inner Geography, Igloo, 2021) and is currently developing a trio project with singer Lynn Cassiers and bassist Lennart Heyndels.

Faithful to the Igloo label since 2009 (first album as a trio, “Noordzee”), she and her Swedish acolytes Mikael Godée, Magnus Bergström and Johan Birgenius completed this third opus entitled “Ingen Fara”.

“Ingen Fara” is a Swedish expression that could be translated as the “don’t worry” that a child would use before doing something reckless. It is a positive expression that reveals the state of mind of the band at the time of the recordings. Despite a complex situation, the four musicians were able to meet in Sweden where they recorded with the famous sound engineer Åke Linton who was able to capture the human and musical complicity of the group. Although the quartet evokes the ECM line and Nordic lyricism, the tracks radiate a unique sound imbued with energy and warmth.

At the helm of the quartet, Mikael Godée and Eve Beuvens sign the compositions in equal parts. A piece entitled “Fri” – a series of short improvisations by each musician – completes the original compositions.

01. Eve Beuvens – Getting Older (04:50)
02. Eve Beuvens – Father’s Day (05:14)
03. Eve Beuvens – Ingen Fara (03:59)
04. Eve Beuvens – Mélatonine (06:04)
05. Eve Beuvens – Lago Di Como (07:26)
06. Eve Beuvens – Les Roses de Saadi (07:17)
07. Eve Beuvens – I See The Light (05:14)
08. Eve Beuvens – Fri (03:12)
09. Eve Beuvens – To Be Continued (04:30)

Mikael Godée soprano sax
Eve Beuvens piano
Magnus Bergstroem doublebass
Johan Birgenius drums


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: