Elvis Presley – Stereo ’57 (Essential Elvis Volume 2) (1989/2013) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Elvis Presley – Stereo ’57 (Essential Elvis Volume 2) (1989/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 01:00:13 minutes | 1,11 GB | Genre: Pop, Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Analogue Productions

From the moment Elvis began working with a new song, sound engineer Thorne Norgar had the 15 ips mono tape machine rolling simultaneously with a 2-track protection copy. The machines weren’t switched to pause until Elvis was satisfied with the take.

A couple of years before the advent of the stereo LP in mid-1958, major record companies were experimenting with stereophonic recordings, often refered to then as binaural. Studios were using the new Ampex 2-track tape recorders for other purposes, such as for recording session back-ups. But few Elvis fans know how close history came to permanently losing these precious audio glimpses of a young Elvis engrossed in the creative process.

Founded in 1933, Radio Recorders of Los Angeles was the preeminent recording studio of its day, and its director of recording, long-time engineer Thorne Nogar, engineered all of the Elvis sessions from 1955 to 1961. Some of popular music’s greatest hits: “Jailhouse Rock,” “All Shook Up,” “Loving You,” and “Teddy Bear,” are just a few of the blockbusters that Nogar oversaw Elvis record at the studios, located at 7000 Santa Monica Blvd.

Elvis would be right in the center of everything, at every recording session, Nogar would later recall. “Like with the Jordanaires when he sang, we would set it up with a unidirectional mike, so he would be standing right in front of them, facing them, and they would have their own directional microphone and they would be singing to one another.”

01. Elvis Presley – I Beg Of You (Take 1) (02:12)
02. Elvis Presley – Is It So Strange (Take 1) (02:37)
03. Elvis Presley – Have I Told You Lately That I Love (Take 2) (01:59)
04. Elvis Presley – It Is No Secret (What God Can Do) (Takes 1,2,3) (06:11)
05. Elvis Presley – Blueberry Hill (Take 2) (03:06)
06. Elvis Presley – Mean Woman Blues (Take 14) (02:21)
07. Elvis Presley – There’ll Be Peace In The Valley (Takes 2,3) (04:02)
08. Elvis Presley – Have I Told You Lately I Love You (Take 6) (01:57)
09. Elvis Presley – Blueberry Hill (Take 7) (02:47)
10. Elvis Presley – That’s When Your Heartaches Begin (Takes 4,5,6) (04:13)
11. Elvis Presley – Is It So Strange (Takes 7,11) (04:15)
12. Elvis Presley – I Beg Of You (Takes 6,8) (02:51)
13. Elvis Presley – Peace In The Valley (Take 7) (03:41)
14. Elvis Presley – Have I Told You Lately That I Love You (Takes 12,13) (03:32)
15. Elvis Presley – I Beg Of You (Take 12) (02:02)
16. Elvis Presley – I Believe (Take 4) (02:08)
17. Elvis Presley – Tell Me Why (Take 5) (02:11)
18. Elvis Presley – Got A Lot O’ Livin’ To Do! (Take 9) (02:37)
19. Elvis Presley – All Shook Up (Take 10) (02:01)
20. Elvis Presley – Take My Hand, Precious Lord (Take 14) (03:21)




Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: