Christian McBride Trio – Live at the Village Vanguard (2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Christian McBride Trio – Live at the Village Vanguard (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:08:32 minutes | 1,36 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Mack Avenue Records

This record is the fruit of McBride’s long association with the Vanguard, where his first appearance as a leader for the historic club was in 1995. In 2007, the bassist and charismatic club owner Lorraine Gordon started an annual one-week residency, which featured McBride’s quintet, Inside Straight. “Lorraine enjoyed my trio and my quintet, Inside Straight. We had such large crowds, so after a few years with such supportive audiences, we added an extra week. Instead of doing the same band for two weeks, I just started bringing in a different band. This has been an ongoing relationship that I look forward to maintaining as long as I can.”

Recorded over three consecutive nights in December of 2014, Live at the Village Vanguard showcases bassist Christian McBride and his trio in concert at the storied New York venue. A four-time Grammy winner, McBride has been a superstar in the jazz world since debuting as a teenager in the late ’80s. Here, McBride is joined by his trio bandmates, pianist Christian Sands and drummer Ulysses Owens, Jr. This is the same outfit that recorded the swinging, sophisticated 2013 studio album Out Here. As with that release, Live at the Village Vanguard finds McBride diving headlong into a set of swaggering, lively standards, originals, and unexpected covers, including a take on the theme to the cult ’70s comedy film Car Wash.

01. Christian McBride Trio – Fried Pies (09:13)
02. Christian McBride Trio – Band Introduction (02:37)
03. Christian McBride Trio – Interlude (07:18)
04. Christian McBride Trio – Sand Dune (09:06)
05. Christian McBride Trio – The Lady in My Life (06:55)
06. Christian McBride Trio – Cherokee (08:43)
07. Christian McBride Trio – Good Morning Heartache (10:34)
08. Christian McBride Trio – Down by the Riverside (06:48)
09. Christian McBride Trio – Car Wash (07:12)

Chrisitan McBride – bass
Christian Sands – piano
Ulysses Owens – drums


%d bloggers like this: