Champion Jack Dupree – Blues Pianist of New Orleans, Vol. 2 (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Champion Jack Dupree – Blues Pianist of New Orleans, Vol. 2 (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 59:47 minutes | 585 MB | Genre: Blues
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Storyville Records

3-CD box set of recordings made by blues and boogie-woogie pianist and singer William Thomas “Champion Jack” Dupree in Denmark, during his years spent in Europe from 1959 through to the ’70s.

He always spoke very highly of the time he spent in Denmark, playing and recording with bands like Papa Bue’s Viking Jazz Band and Fessor’s Big City Band, and later the Kenn Lending Blues Band. He recorded for Storyville Records every time he was in Copenhagen, especially in the sixties. The music in this box set is from these great recordings.

After the war he moved to New York, where he made multiple recordings for many labels, including his legendary 1958 album for Atlantic Records, ‘Blues From The Gutter’. He went to England shortly thereafter, where he settled and got married. Through the sixties and the beginning of the seventies he lived in Halifax and briefly in Zürich, Switzerland. In 1975, after getting divorced, he moved to Hannover, Germany, where he lived until he died of cancer in 1992.

He toured constantly throughout his years in Europe, recording almost everywhere he went. he could be the bluesman with the most recordings in history. He invented songs for every recording he made – songs that in many cases he would only sing that one time. The first time he was recording for Rounder Records in New Orleans in 1990. They had booked the studio for two days, and after they were finished, there was material for at least three albums. After the first take, producer Ron Levy said, ‘Wow, that was great, Jack! Why don’t you do it again so we have an alternate take?’ ‘Oh, yeah’, Jack said, and then he did something else.

01. Champion Jack Dupree – Storybook (05:46)
02. Champion Jack Dupree – Careless Love (04:46)
03. Champion Jack Dupree – Mama Don’t Allow (03:51)
04. Champion Jack Dupree – See See Rider (04:31)
05. Champion Jack Dupree – Woodpecker (02:40)
06. Champion Jack Dupree – You Can Make It (04:38)
07. Champion Jack Dupree – Sometimes I Feel Like A (04:17)
08. Champion Jack Dupree – Unborn Child (03:44)
09. Champion Jack Dupree – When I Left Home (02:56)
10. Champion Jack Dupree – 10Cross Eyed Woman (02:40)
11. Champion Jack Dupree – I Lost a Good Woman (02:20)
12. Champion Jack Dupree – Things I Used to Do (04:43)
13. Champion Jack Dupree – Self Pity (04:42)
14. Champion Jack Dupree – Ain’t That a Hard Pillow (04:36)
15. Champion Jack Dupree – Have You Ever Been Alone (03:31)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: