Waylon Jennings – Sweet Mother Texas (1986/2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Waylon Jennings – Sweet Mother Texas (1986/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 28:53 minutes | 564 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © RCA – Legacy

This was Waylon’s last album for RCA and failed to chart. Unsurprising I guess, as it is far from typical Waylon, but it is absolutely brilliant. A powerful reflective album, not so rollicking and countryfied as most of Waylon’s stuff, maybe a bit more back to ‘I’ve always been crazy’ days. It may not be to the taste of a proper yee-ha country fan, but I found it absolutely compelling to the point that I am now looking to replace my copy which has a faint scratch too much for my fancy new deck to tolerate. Stand out tracks Me And Them Brothers Of Mine, and Sweet Mother Texas, with spare orchestration and a slow burn, allowing that fantastic voice to blow you away and raise the hairs on the back of your neck. One of the best albums ever, in any genre, in my book, I think above all because it gives the power of Waylon’s voice full play. But maybe that’s just me….

1. Waylon Jennings – I’m On Fire (02:35)
2. Waylon Jennings – Me and Them Brothers of Mine (03:06)
3. Waylon Jennings – I Take My Comfort In You (03:28)
4. Waylon Jennings – Looking for Suzanne (03:39)
5. Waylon Jennings – Be Careful Who You Love (04:33)
6. Waylon Jennings – Sweet Mother Texas (02:53)
7. Waylon Jennings – Living Legend (04:45)
8. Waylon Jennings – Hanging On (03:51)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: