The Twilight Sad – It Won/t Be Like This All The Time (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

The Twilight Sad – It Won/t Be Like This All The Time (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 46:44 minutes | 570 MB | Genre: Shoegaze, Indie Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Rock Action Records

Less secretive since they opened for The Cure, The Twilight Sad adopt the same strategy on record. Moving from FatCat to Mogwaï’s label Rock Action, the Scots allow themselves some synth-pop openings, like on Let’s Get Lost or Videograms. They show their difference whilst maintaining their usual post-punk coldness. Whether it’s the howling metallic guitar, the well-supported rhythm section, their ice-cold (The Arbor) or delicate (SundayDay13) keyboards, James Graham’s band builds sound constructions that are full, hollow, bright or shaded. Salutary contradictions that bring relief and substance to the work transform the traditional austere post-punk sound into grandiloquent melodic progressions. The more discreet bass finds the right balance (Girl Chewing Gum) while James Graham’s stamp takes us back to the young Morrissey – just with more rolling of ‘r’s. All of this pushed Robert Smith to say, “If the world was a better place they would be playing for more people, and I think they can.”  – Charlotte Saintoin

1. The Twilight Sad – [10 Good Reasons for Modern Drugs] (04:08)
2. The Twilight Sad – Shooting Dennis Hopper Shooting (03:24)
3. The Twilight Sad – The Arbor (04:19)
4. The Twilight Sad – VTr (04:16)
5. The Twilight Sad – Sunday Day13 (03:33)
6. The Twilight Sad – I m Not Here [Missing Face] (05:38)
7. The Twilight Sad – Auge Maschine (04:41)
8. The Twilight Sad – Keep It All to Myself (03:01)
9. The Twilight Sad – Girl Chewing Gum (04:03)
10. The Twilight Sad – Lets Get Lost (04:40)
11. The Twilight Sad – Videograms (04:55)


%d bloggers like this: