SPRINTS – Letter To Self (Bandcamp Exclusive Edition) (2024) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

SPRINTS – Letter To Self (Bandcamp Exclusive Edition) (2024)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 52:01 minutes | 835 MB | Genre: Alternative Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © City Slang

Letter to Self received a score of 89 out of 100 on review aggregator Metacritic based on six critics’ reviews, indicating “universal acclaim”. Uncut felt that “Sprints’ debut delivers on thrilling live shows, with singer, guitarist and songwriter Karla Chubb providing a visceral fury, not least on the furious ‘Adore Adore Adore’, unheard since their label released Hole’s Pretty on the Inside”.[8] Mojo stated that “from Ireland’s proliferating alt-guitar pack, these intense runners could go the distance”. Julia Mason of Clash wrote that “Sprints have produced an album brutally honest and personal. They have not been afraid to express the feeling of being an outsider, of looking for validation, of attempting to overcome self-doubt”.

“This is an exploration of pain, passion and perseverance,” is how Sprints present their debut album. After having developed their decidedly British garage-punk under Nice Swan Recording with the EPs A Modern Job and Manifesto, released in 2021, the young quartet from Dublin has moved onto the Berlin-based indie label City Slang (Calexico, Hauschka, Gold Panda, Tindersticks, as well as Anna Von Hausswolff) for Letter To Self. Produced by expert of noise texture and bassist of Gilla Band, Daniel Fox, and recorded in just 12 days in Anjou, this dazzling record of 11 garage tracks doesn’t hold back, seeking catharsis over subtlety.

“Music became an outlet for emotion, and a way for me to understand myself and society,” reveals Karla Chubb, the group’s ringleader, whose shattering voice has been backed by Colm O’Reilly’s guitar, Jack Callan’s drums, and Sam McCann’s bass, since the middle of the 2010s. Thunderous kick (“Ticking”) and plenty of saturation (“Cathedral”), rises in power until the point of implosion, almost giving a taste of the 90s (“A Wreck (A Mess)”). Adding efficient riffing (“Up and Comer”) and post-punk bass (“Literary Mind”), this high-tension record unfolds like a continuous flow of avalanches. If you’re looking for some respite, we recommend you wait for the last minute, where the guitar notes gently flow over softer, spoken vocals into silence. Qobuzissime! – Charlotte Saintoin

01. SPRINTS – Ticking (03:06)
02. SPRINTS – Heavy (03:27)
03. SPRINTS – Cathedral (02:59)
04. SPRINTS – Shaking Their Hands (03:42)
05. SPRINTS – Adore Adore Adore (02:37)
06. SPRINTS – Shadow Of A Doubt (04:10)
07. SPRINTS – Can’t Get Enough Of It (04:19)
08. SPRINTS – Literary Mind (04:32)
09. SPRINTS – A Wreck (A Mess) (03:36)
10. SPRINTS – Up and Comer (03:46)
11. SPRINTS – Letter To Self (03:20)
12. SPRINTS – Cathedral (Acoustic Demo) (04:08)
13. SPRINTS – Adore Adore Adore (Live Demo) (04:50)
14. SPRINTS – Literary Mind (Acoustic Demo) (03:22)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: