Sharon Van Etten – We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong (2022) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Sharon Van Etten - We've Been Going About This All Wrong (2022) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz] Download

Sharon Van Etten – We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong (2022)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 39:19 minutes | 447 MB | Genre: Indie Rock, Indie Folk, Female Vocal
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Jagjaguwar

Sharon Van Etten observed a binding interplay between the experience of loss and growth over the last 24 months as our world has shared innumerable tangible and metaphorical endings and beginnings. We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong, is her 10-track meditative blueprint to make sense of the connective human experience, while immersed in societal trauma, and the resulting transformations. One of Van Etten’s many songwriting talents is her distillation of emotional complexity into innately resonate lyrical passages. 2010’s Epic demonstrated the simple, pliable prowess of her songcraft; We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong is an assured extension to this. “Darkness Fades” opens with soft fingerpicking, and Van Etten’s smooth, warbling melodic voice crooning for life’s metaphoric night to end: “I’m dreaming of a place/ I held close in a state/ Darkness fades.” Frustration and gnarly, synth-backed instrumentation fuel “Anything” and “Headspace” with anxious, innocent curiosity leaning to overwhelmed, dissociative numbing. “Come Back” longs to reconnect with a distant partner. “Darkish,” an album highlight, fuses lyrical sentiment and akin sonic textures. Backed by chunked suspended guitar chords and Van Etten’s solo vocal, a message of resilience resonates abound. Throughout a decade-plus career, Sharon Van Etten has offered a body of work swaddled in empathy, companionship, and vulnerability. We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong is a new chapter that carries a bespoke urgency embracing a strewn, beautifully messy portrait of life. This record reminds us that solace is cultivated where the gradients of light and dark revel, and where our mending hearts have the space and time they need to heal. – William Card


01. Sharon Van Etten – Darkness Fades (04:33)
02. Sharon Van Etten – Home To Me (03:38)
03. Sharon Van Etten – I’ll Try (03:07)
04. Sharon Van Etten – Anything (02:38)
05. Sharon Van Etten – Born (05:02)
06. Sharon Van Etten – Headspace (04:26)
07. Sharon Van Etten – Come Back (04:29)
08. Sharon Van Etten – Darkish (04:04)
09. Sharon Van Etten – Mistakes (03:59)
10. Sharon Van Etten – Far Away (03:19)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: