Charles Mingus – Mingus Plays Piano (1963/1997) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

– Mingus Plays Piano (1963/1997)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 41:23 minutes | 829 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Verve Reissues

On this brilliant 1963 release, bassist and composer extraordinaire Charles Mingus delivers a fiery, startling imaginative album of solo piano takes of his compositions, free improvisations, and jazz standards. Included are covers of “Body and Soul” and “I Can’t Get Started,” as well as originals such as “Orange Was the Color of Her Dress, Then Silk Blues.” The classic 1963 release by one of jazz’s great revolutionaries is a great insight into the imagination of one of the most imaginative and prolific jazz musicians of the 20th Century.

Bassist Charles Mingus would never qualify as a virtuoso on the piano but his technique was reasonably impressive and his imagination quite brilliant. This unique solo piano album (which was reissued in 1997) has a few standards (“Body and Soul,” “Memories of You” and “I’m Getting Sentimental over You”) along with some freely improvised originals, most of which are quite fascinating to hear, as if one were listening to Mingus think aloud.

01. Charles Mingus – Myself When I Am Real (07:33)
02. Charles Mingus – I Can’t Get Started (03:40)
03. Charles Mingus – Body And Soul (04:29)
04. Charles Mingus – Roland Kirk’s Message (02:39)
05. Charles Mingus – Memories Of You (04:33)
06. Charles Mingus – She’s Just Miss Popular Hybrid (03:07)
07. Charles Mingus – Orange Was The Color Of Her Dress, Then Silk Blues (04:14)
08. Charles Mingus – Meditations For Moses (03:37)
09. Charles Mingus – Old Portrait (03:44)
10. Charles Mingus – I’m Getting Sentimental Over You (03:42)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: